daliaabbas

Rediscovering Truth

In Uncategorized on June 27, 2011 at 7:57 pm

Six days ago marked my four year anniversary of being in Egypt.

Four years ago, I was a Californian teenager, who swam, cheer-led and was class president.

Four years ago, I could care less about my family, could only understand Arabic but barely speak it, and showed no interest in religon or Arab culture.

Boy, how the tables have turned.

I have never really been a fan of keeping  blogs. I remember how much drama they created in middle school, I remember the painful gossip websites and the hurtful anonymous comments left on ‘chatter boxes.’

Despite all of this, I have decided I need a venue wherein I can document my thoughts and reflections about life. I don’t want this to be my diary, rather I would like a place where I can speak my mind about politics, religion and everything in between. What makes this blog different from the gajillion that are out there you ask?

I don’t think I could answer that question because I myself do not yet know. All I know is as each day goes by, I am constantly realizing how wrong I was about ‘facts’ that I previously held to be self-evident. This is why I am titling this blog “Rediscovering Truth.”

In the four years I have spent in Egypt, I have learned so much more about the world and myself.To think that before I boarded that 12:30 pm flight from San Francisco en route to Cairo, I had no idea what Dubai was and would probably struggle to explain where Palestine is on a map.

And yet, I recognize that my thinking capacity is so limited, and it really gets to me. Earlier this year, a friend of mine asked me what my political afflication was.  When I asked for some clarification, he asked “you know, are you a sociaslist? a democract? a communist?”

I was embarrassed that I did not have an answer. I thought about it all night, mortified in thinking that I considered myself a political scientist and yet did not know where I stood when it came to how I looked at politics. But should not having an answer to such a question really be something I take chagrin at?

If anything, I find comfort in describing these past four years with Socrates’ famous words: “One thing only I know, and that is that I know nothing.”

  1. Part of being open minded is learning to question your own beliefs and consider that what you “know” might be wrong. The other part of being open minded is learning to do it again once you have a new set of opinions. Absolutely love you’re reasoning behind the blog name!

Leave a comment